08-10 SS Turbocharged General Discussion Discuss the 2008 - 2009 Chevy Cobalt SS Turbocharged. On sale since the second quarter of 2008.

To buy high-mileage cobalt or no?

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2015, 01:16 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question To buy high-mileage cobalt or no?

Hey all. I'm doing some shopping around to look for (hopefully soon) my first Cobalt SS purchase. I've been driving my Jetta for a few years now and I've decided it's about time for an upgrade.

My question to you all is this.... how high mileage is too high for reliability's sake for these cars? I know, I know... it all depends on how the car was maintained, etc. But for instance, I would feel totally safe buying a Civic with 125,000 miles on it and maintenance history. Is the LNF/LSJ worthy to be considered at 100,000+ for a daily driver without being too concerned about whether something will blow soon? I'm a reasonable mechanic, but I have no access to a garage at the moment, so anything that needs fixed will be in a parking lot or taken to a shop most likely.

I've been limiting all my searches to under 75,000 miles, but that heavily limits selection within 200-300 miles of me. I'd obviously prefer low miles, but if it's a highly reliable car, I might be willing to venture a bit higher if it lands me a killer deal!

My 120,000ish mile 2002 Jetta has been kind of a money pit for repairs lately. I'd prefer not to have the same issues with my next car if possible.

Bottom line, is there a limit to mileage you would consider "safe" on an LNF or LSJ? Is one considered more reliable than the other? Any other considerations specific to these cars to be aware of?

I really appreciate the help, all!
Old 10-12-2015, 01:25 AM

Received 132 Likes on 109 Posts