08-10 SS Turbocharged General Discussion Discuss the 2008 - 2009 Chevy Cobalt SS Turbocharged. On sale since the second quarter of 2008.

Rear Brakes FILE COMPLAINT HERE SO WE CAN GET A RECALL

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2011, 02:10 PM

Received 40 Likes on 31 Posts
Originally Posted by CmplXty
... I haven't had the car 30 days yet!
You mean you were sold a car with wiped brakes?

Was it an optimum used car? ~ if so (or if equivalent) you should be covered - just go back to the selling dealer...
~ but if it was just a "rat" dealer, or private sale, this falls under the "buyer beware" spectrum of things.

When I worked in the auto service industry pre-purchase inspections were the norm ~ and IMHO a wise investment.

I know what you're saying, but to play devils advocate, since brakes are a wear item, it's like you would be expecting the manufacturer to replace your gas - becasue it's ran out...

Does that make sense?

Last edited by soundjunky; 10-31-2011 at 05:41 PM.
Old 10-31-2011, 02:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I just felt my back rotors and the outside is grooved and once i felt the inside the dang things go smooth for a 1/2 inch then its a full or more 1/16" drop in groove to the edge of the rotor. My rotors are more shot than my pads!
Old 10-31-2011, 05:38 PM

i had my TC/sedan in about a month after i bought it. i would hear a clunk during/after hitting a bump. turns out when the dealership i bought my car from did put some kind of pins in when they replaced the rear pads. since that no clunks but i just rolled over 30k and my brakes squeak like hellllllll but i drive in rush hour traffic everyday at 4pm and do alot of soft braking. so when ever they annoy me i do a couple hard brakes and the squeak goes away for a while.

i have yet to look at the brakes but when i brought my car into the new dealership i go to for warranty,we balanced and rotated tires and the brakes were getting down there but didnt think they needed to be replaced yet.