2.0L LSJ Performance Tech 205hp Supercharged SS tuner version. 200 lb-ft of torque.

Kind of pissed........

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2006, 12:05 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Kind of pissed........

Well i got my cobalt ss/sc on june 30th. I now have 425 miles on the car so i go to take off and im going i wait till i'm at about 4k rpm's and punch it grab second gear quick not a powershift and to my delight my clutch slipped . It only slips on quick 1st to 2nd shifts and sometimes on a quick 2nd to 3rd. Is my clucth a dud? I really try not to beat on my car. I have never dumped the clutch or power shifted. I am new to a manual trans but i didn't think i could go through a clutch in a week and a half. Has anyone else had a similar problem? I know everyone here on a stock clutch says their's slips but mine is almost brand new. I got the car from my dad's dealership so warranty is not a problem but im kinda pissed that i still have my temp plate and the clutch is already starting to go. Sorry i just had to vent i'll end my rant know.
Old 07-12-2006, 12:09 AM

Search. This is a HUGE problem in these cars, just gotta learn to live with it, or buy a aftermarket clutch!!
Old 07-12-2006, 12:12 AM

my clutch is in perfect working order after 3000 miles...are you sure you know what slipping feels like? or looks like too...my clutch bites like a monster. But i also take off from lights at maybe 1000 rpms and thats the constant wear right there....
Old 07-12-2006, 12:15 AM

Iv had mine for almost two months and I have 4700 miles on her and iv had no issues with the clutch at all. "knock on wood"
Old 07-12-2006, 12:17 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Over 24000 miles on my stock clutch and NO problems what so ever...
Old 07-12-2006, 12:18 AM

Interesting, you guys can shift hard to second and not get a thud or slipage, I thought everyone had this???? Since STG 2, power shifting into 2nd is totally useless, have to wait a good one or 2 seconds then slide it in.