2.0L LSJ Performance Tech 205hp Supercharged SS tuner version. 200 lb-ft of torque.

Mobil 1 or Royal Purple??

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2007, 10:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Onyxd04Redline
Group 4 > Group 3
Indeed it is!
Old 08-15-2007, 10:20 AM

Talking

I am an engineer at a large chemical company and I have had very personal experience with royal purple. So much that they have developed a custom oil for me to use in my process pumps which can handle the emulsification that occurs in a high Ph situation. With that being said, let me give you a little analogy. Running a really high quality oil is kind of like being in a huge room with thousands and thousands of tiny little ball bearings on the floor. The better the oil, the closer the ball bearings will be in size to each other. A less expensive oil will have ball bearings that are all different sizes. Now you walk into that room, I'd be willing to bet you would have a harder time walking on the surface where all the ball bearings are the same size. Same goes for higher quality oils. When you put a high quality oil into your car the slipping resistance is far less than a lower quality oil. As far as Royal Purple goes. Just try it in your car. I guarantee that after 5K miles it will be the exact same purple color that it was when you put it in. If that doesnt make you a believer, buy some cheap oil and some royal purple. Put them both in 2 different bottles of water as a 50/50 mixture. Shake them both vigorously, and look to see which oil returns from emulsification (mixing) quicker.
Old 08-15-2007, 10:25 AM

Originally Posted by lewisb13