2.2L L61 Performance Tech 16 valve 145 hp EcoTec with 155 lb-ft of torque

Need advice with this build

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2008, 02:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need advice with this build

Ok guys, now that tuning is available for us 2.2 balts I have decided to go ahead and do some modding. The car is an 05 balt 2.2 5-speed. I am a college student and got this car for gas. I just got rid of my 99 z28 and will be getting a new cobra when i get out next year, so this is not a performance car for me. I know that anything that increases airflow will increase mileage so thats how im gonna go. DOnt get me wrong, added power is great as well. Here is what im thinking of doing in this order...
intake
header
exhaust
2.4 intake
tune
lighter wheels
Tell me what you guys think. I need help because I really wanna go the cheapest route possible with all of these parts. I also want a quiet exhaust, not something overly loud. I thought about getting the ss/sc exhaust but have heard that its still really restrictive. I guess i am open to used parts as well. Thanks for any and all input on this.
Old 07-07-2008, 03:18 PM

If I were you, and I knew that I was going to be getting a different car within a year, I would only mod slightly, and save my money for a nice downpayment or mods for the new car. If I still wanted to mod the cobalt, it would just be intake and exhaust, nothing too crazy.
Old 07-07-2008, 03:24 PM
Platinum Member

well... interior parts are pretty heavy, lighter seats may help as well as lighter body parts to a lesser extent. If you get runflat tires or like to live on the edge... you could delete your spare tire to save some more weight. I would say that you are on the right track with those mods. GMPP exhaust will breath more than the stock SS/SC exhaust if you want to keep with GM parts so that is an option and isn't super loud if what you are going towards is a more conservative setup.

I would love to see the results in mileage when you finish!