2.2L L61 Performance Tech 16 valve 145 hp EcoTec with 155 lb-ft of torque

New LS owner looking for answers...

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2006, 03:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New LS owner looking for answers...

Hey everyone, I just purchased an '06 Cobalt LS 5spd, and I have some questions about mods. I'm also extremely new to the whole "owning a new car and extracting every last bit of performance out of it" scene, so please bear with me...

After searching through the forums, I had originally thought that the first two upgrades I would want would be a new cold air intake and a new exhaust. However, after some more research, it seems that neither will really add very much hp. Is that the case? If so, how do I add to the 145 horses that currently pull this car? Any recommendations for some added power are appreciated.

Looking forward to smoking my brother's Scion tc shortly
Old 07-04-2006, 03:55 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Well here is the thing...

Intake & Exhaust upgrades will only do so much. People hype bolt ons more than they should because the gains are really that little in the greater aspect of "performance". If you were to do some upgrades, you'll notice a bit of a difference but in reality, it's very small for the money you're spending. You could spend $1,500 in bolt ons and still yield you with crap results.