2.4L LE5 Performance Tech 16 valve 171 hp EcoTec with 163 lb-ft of torque

Fuel problems...

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2007, 08:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fuel problems...

i posted this in my local car enthusiast forum hoping to get a fresh set of eyes looking in, but havnt had much response... maybe someone here can lend a little info
------
Well, the SS is being a little bit of a sporadic beotch. This is all warranty covered stuff, but i just feel like going on a rant

the 10th of July, i bring the SS into the shop i work at...(i'm a warranty administrator and prior to that worked on the line for 4 years at this shop) Every time I've filled the car up with gas in the 2-3 weeks prior, it never hits "Full" on the gauge. Probably hovers 1/8 to 1/4 under full. I took the first filling up as chance- figured "hey, these newer cars have small ass filler necks, probably back pressure clicking off the gas pump" (mind you i've had this car for over a year now). But after it did it the second time (and i made sure i moved the gas nozzle in and out to get those last few drops in) i decided "meh, ill let them look at the sending unit." Surely enough, when i brought it in on the 10th, the sending unit had a problem with the potentiometer, not recognizing anything over 3/4 of a tank. They replace it. (had to order the part so give or take a few days of that week to replace it)
This was addressed in a GM Bulletin #06-06-04-012A and is a known concern

That night, wife is going to work (she works 3rd shift). She calls me up around midnight saying "well, i thought i was being stupid and forgot to fill up and i was calling for you to bring me a gas can, but apparently they didnt fix the sending unit. The gas gauge is basically sweeping back and forth from where the level is, to empty"