2.4L LE5 Performance Tech 16 valve 171 hp EcoTec with 163 lb-ft of torque

Installing a Turbo (Tips)

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2006, 10:30 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Installing a Turbo (Tips)

So does anyone have any tips on installing a turbo (NJHK i realize i could put this in your thread but im just gonna be lazy).....for instance....i plan to do the install myself...and i have basic knowledge of the engine and what not.....how hard would it be for me.....i have looked it over and it doesnt look to hard to me.....it will be a winter install and i will have plenty of time to do it.....when i install the turbo...i dont need to remove the eninge from the bay do i ?.......just curious cuz i saw someone do that on a SRT4...?
Old 10-05-2006, 01:07 AM
I'm old school

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
The response you can expect is "if you have to ask, you probably shouldn't be doing it". However, I will try to help. Your question is really much too broad. There are so many small parts that make up a complete turbo system that to give a "tip" isn't really possible. No, you don't have to remove the engine. Yes, you do have to remove the front facia, and a lot of other things. Here's my tip. Buy a complete kit, don't get each part separately. That way you should get some nice instructions that will come with it and a company to back the kit up.
Old 10-05-2006, 02:17 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I agree with Halfcent.

I am going to UTI..so i dont have to "ask" how to do it..i should just..know.
Old 10-05-2006, 08:25 PM

again if you have to ask, dont. it is a very complicated thing to do and screw ups are not good. pay to get it done, it is not worth the risk and it will take you probably like at least 25+ hours where it will take a shop far less.
Old 10-05-2006, 08:34 PM
Banned