Drivetrain Transmission, LSD, Clutch, Driveline, Axles...

80 mph shifted to 1st

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2008, 01:06 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
80 mph shifted to 1st

Hey I know this sounds stupid to you guys but I am new to the car and only been driving it 700 miles I was on the highway and some dodge diesel with a chip and some mods thought he could own the balt so I am doin about 80 after wasting him and seen a cop and accidentaly through it into first and it popped out of gear made a weird clunk & reved the engine real up in the rpms .. I will never do it again but just nervous w/ the new car.. I feel retarded .. But I do not care about pride right now I just care about the possible damage ...
Old 09-16-2008, 01:07 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
how did you even get it into gear you might have really messed stuff up
Old 09-16-2008, 01:12 PM
Haz l33t wheelz.

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
wow, i'm impressed you managed to get it into first at all, it should be ok if you never do that again.
Old 09-16-2008, 01:13 PM

I would seriously start looking into this to be on the safe side, it cannot be good. I assume no cel? no smoke of any sort? does it shift ok? maybe tell us how its driving and it there is any symptoms etc...
Old 09-16-2008, 01:15 PM

Same here i don't know how you managed to do that! But you should be good
Old 09-16-2008, 01:16 PM

surprised you got it into first
Old 09-16-2008, 01:16 PM

Car should be fine, I had something similar like that happen to me when I first got my car, granted I wasn't doing 80mph and going into first but it did the same thing that you described. I've had my SS/SC for two years, and the tranny is doing just fine...
Old 09-16-2008, 01:19 PM

Wow.... I know why **** didn't get fucked up.... CLUTCH. I guarantee you burned your clutch. These clutchs like to slip when bad **** is about to happen so.... Your ok
Old 09-16-2008, 01:52 PM
Banned