Drivetrain Transmission, LSD, Clutch, Driveline, Axles...

Reviews On Shifting Smooth??

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2005, 10:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Reviews On Shifting Smooth??

Hey..

Just wondering on how other people feel about this car's shifting transitions.. I heard from my buddy that there was a review from GM itself saying that this car is not a car that likes to shift smooth.. I mean compared to some other cars.. It just doesn't seem to have a nice point to shift at to have a nice smooth shift..

I drove my buddies brothers Toyota Celica the other night from the bar (he was to drunk) and man does that thing shift nice.. Even my 1990 Beretta shifts nicer then this car.. And that car is kind of performance orientated. And I know how to shift so I mean you can say its driver error. Cause like I said I drove the Celica and had nice smooth shifts.. Same with my Beretta.. And also the fact that I am a transport truck driver, and I drive alot of miles in a day.. More miles in a day then more people will put on it like 1 week of driving.

Any else find that this car is below normal for shifting smooth??

Just kind of sucks, cause I mean sometimes I would like a really smooth nice shift. But it just isn't going to happen in this car. I have done it sometimes (well it was ok) but I mean nothing compare to the Celica.. It just comes natural on the Celica.. This car is likes you fighting to get a nice shift. I mean my truck seems to have the same kind of shifting at the car lol.. That's not very good
Old 08-07-2005, 11:35 PM
The Stig

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I've noticed it to be jerky at times, but it doesn't really bother me. While rolling in 2nd gear it does tend to buck slightly when you let the rev's drop too low. I'm not sure if that's normal for a standard shift car since this is my first.
Old 08-07-2005, 11:44 PM

I've got no problems driving it smoothly...