Drivetrain Transmission, LSD, Clutch, Driveline, Axles...

Shifting question

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2007, 08:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shifting question

Ok so im new to a manual, I drove them rarely for work so since friday is really the first time ive driven a manual for more then 5 minutes. Anyway, I can make the car shift smooth if I let off the clutch real slow. Now in my truck (auto) I had a programmer that turned up shift pressure which made the truck jump on shifts which was good I heard it was better for the transmission.

Ok anyway my question is, is it better to almost shift quicker (which for me makes the car kinda jump when shifting) or is it better to shift slower and smooth almost like an automatic? I can shift real smooth like an auto if I do it slower, however I would think it would be better to almost "pop" off the clutch so it keeps slipping to a minimal?
Old 08-01-2007, 08:38 PM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
you're jumping because you're not rev matching. push the clutch, shift, give alittle gas, let the clutch out. with a manual you have to put the car to the right rpms for it to be buttery smooth. same thing when you downshift. i'll use a downshift as an example because it's easier to understand for a noob i think.

if you're cruising at 3krpms in 3rd, and you want to downshift to 2nd, your rpms are going to jump up to over 4krpms now if you keep the same speed. try it and watch your rpms. so, the way to do it smoothly would be to let off gas, hit clutch, shift from 3rd to 2nd, hit the gas a LITTLE so your rpm's go up to around 4, let out clutch, and it will be perfectly smooth.

This car takes some getting used to, i still could be smoother on the 1 to 2 shift, and i learned how to drive on a manual, took my drivers test with a stick.