Electronics, Audio, and Video All Audio, Video, Alarms, and all other electronics

Amplifier Questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2006, 03:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Amplifier Questions

Alright I'm pretty new to all the car audio stuff so I have a couple questions that I was hoping some more knowledgable people could help me with.

First of all I want to replace the front 2 door speakers and I was gonna put in Kicker DS60's (Any opinions on these speakers are welcome) which are 6-50W RMS speakers and I will probably leave the rear 6x9 speakers stock for now. Now the real question is about what amp I should get to power those speakers. I was looking at the Profile AP740 60Wx4 amp but will this be too much power for the speakers and how much can the stock 6x9s handle. If it is too much power what would be a better amp (needs to be less than $150).

MY last question is how do you wire the speakers to the amp? Do you have to run seperate wires to each speaker or what? This is probably the most important question since i'm completely clueless on this one.

Thanks for any help in advance and all the products I listed can be found on Crutchfields website and I can post links if needed.
Old 11-12-2006, 08:47 PM

pass on the Profile amp. way too much distortion coming out of that one.

the stock 6x9s are 8ohms so they're gonna have less power going to them than your fronts.

and wiring to the speakers. you just run your speaker wire from the amps to the back of the radio, all the wires are there
Old 11-12-2006, 09:09 PM

Originally Posted by sunrise_mj
pass on the Profile amp. way too much distortion coming out of that one.

the stock 6x9s are 8ohms so they're gonna have less power going to them than your fronts.

and wiring to the speakers. you just run your speaker wire from the amps to the back of the radio, all the wires are there

Thanks for the quick response. So can you recomend a different amp and is 60Wx4 to much power or will that be okay?