Electronics, Audio, and Video All Audio, Video, Alarms, and all other electronics

First shot at a fiberglass box

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2008, 10:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First shot at a fiberglass box

Pics for now, info later. Just remember that this is my first attempt at fiberglass, so be gentle.

The sub thats going in it

Sean
Old 10-21-2008, 10:38 PM

idk im no expert but you have some work to do.
Old 10-21-2008, 10:39 PM

Yeah, should have mentioned that that is only the first two layers of the back side. Kinda ran out of time, but I have 5-6 layers on it now just no pics yet.

Sean
Old 10-21-2008, 10:43 PM

Cool man....Best of luck to ya... Cant wait to see the finished product
Old 10-21-2008, 10:44 PM
Banned

hey man nice try for you first time. try this next time. put down aluminum foil down first. make sure to tape all the edges down and use blue painters tape. Then go over the foil like you did with the other tape but a larger area and make sure to then go over again perpendicular to the layer before. invest in a fiberglass roller. your shell you made doesn't look like it's flush enough with the trunk space it's in. go over to fiberglassforums.com and read up on a bunch of builds before you start over again.
Old 10-21-2008, 10:46 PM

My only complaint... if your going to be using fiberglass to create the face of your box, make sure you get all the air bubbles out. It looks like a decent start. That a 10" or 8" woofer?
Old 10-22-2008, 05:43 AM