Electronics, Audio, and Video All Audio, Video, Alarms, and all other electronics

help on indash dvd and screen

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2006, 06:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
help on indash dvd and screen

I am new to the indash dvd players with flip out screens and am wanting to install one in my car. I have put hundreds of headunits in before but i did not know if the wiring was the same or if there is a bunch of other wireing that would have to be done. i am wanting to buy one from curcitcity and i wont let them touch my car to install it for me...i had bad experiences with them wiring stuff for me before. and the kept on giving me the run around when i ask how hard they were to install. Any help or tips would be great. I just want to know how hard they are to install. i dont want to know if you think that they are a waste of time or look bad....thanks
Old 11-10-2006, 01:55 AM

I did a flip out moniter on my truck before I had the cobalt and it honestly wasn't too bad. It was only a screen though and not a complete head unit but if you know about wiring and installing speakers and what not (etc.) you'll be fine. It just takes a little bit longer.

If you have any problems PM me and I'll try to help!

-Adam aka drift
Old 11-10-2006, 09:22 AM

theres usually two extra wires for screens, and three extra for nav units.

two extra is usually a parking brake wire, which hooks to your parking brake, to legally install your tv.and a reverse wire (hooks to the wire that lights when you go in reverse, for back up cams)
three extra are usually, parking brake, a speed sense wire (hooks to your cars VSS wire) and a reverse wire (hooks to the wire that lights when you go in reverse, for back up cams) and a reverse wire
Old 11-10-2006, 10:48 AM

thanks for the replys. i searched all over css.net and coulden't find anything on how to install that is why i started this post. but from what u guys said it sound like it should be easy... thanks again