Electronics, Audio, and Video All Audio, Video, Alarms, and all other electronics

IMPORTANT: All wires must be fused

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2008, 07:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
IMPORTANT: All wires must be fused

I was having a discussion with someone who didn't seem to think it was important to properly fuse all aftermarket electrical components. I'm no automotive expert but I can surely speak on behalf of those who are and maybe they'll back me up on this - it is ridiculously important to properly fuse anything you add to your car, no matter how little power you think it draws. Once that hot wire finds a path to the ground because there is a nick in it or whatever, and there is no fuse, you are now in big trouble. If you are running a line directly to the battery (how it should be done) there should be a fuse about six inches away.

Read:

lights are wired up, lol broke one of the original tubes too, it was too long and i tried to force it under the drivers dash lol snap. But ya it's finished, pics to come tonite, and no fuse on it, just the switch, ran it to the battery for direct power and ground without having to *** around with too much. Next up will be trunk and back seat lighting.......i'm debating investing in about 20-50 blue/white LED's and wiring the entire car with it.........we'll see.

Fuses protect the wiring, not the tubes. That wire that you ran the length of the car? Yeah if that shorts and gets a path to the ground... goodbye car cause you have no fuse.

"Failure to properly fuse your wiring and components could be devastating. A wire could short somewhere in the car, and start a fire."

gotta do something pretty funky to melt the wires tho, something that funky would fry all of the fuses in my car probably.......that's pretty unlikely.....