Electronics, Audio, and Video All Audio, Video, Alarms, and all other electronics

Need Help With This Amp

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2009, 12:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am a pro! Been doing car audio for 20 years. Trust me, "cold solder joints" are not a worry when you know how to solder and have only proven to be a problem in engine/transmission wire harnesses that see extreme heat/cold cycles and other extreme conditions. Inside the car, under the dash is not a likely place for a "cold solder joint" condition. Butt splice connectors are an open source of failure and will fail 9 out of 10 times over a properly soldered connection. Behind the radio or under the dash the wires will not have a lot of room to flex and move which is what causes an improperly soldered joint to fail in the first place.
Old 06-10-2009, 04:43 PM

Originally Posted by p_hanson
I am a pro! Been doing car audio for 20 years. Trust me, "cold solder joints" are not a worry when you know how to solder and have only proven to be a problem in engine/transmission wire harnesses that see extreme heat/cold cycles and other extreme conditions. Inside the car, under the dash is not a likely place for a "cold solder joint" condition. Butt splice connectors are an open source of failure and will fail 9 out of 10 times over a properly soldered connection. Behind the radio or under the dash the wires will not have a lot of room to flex and move which is what causes an improperly soldered joint to fail in the first place.
ok....so in turn as you can tell this guy isnt a pro! so talking to him, and telling him what to do like a pro, seems kinda like a lost cause, Im not saying he knows how to properly solder or not, but if he doesnt then cold solder joints could happen , and they do happen under the dash or behind the radio. Im guessing he pulls he radio out alot or seldom, which in turn could cause a bad solder joint to happen. Im just saying , to say something will never happen is total BS.