Electronics, Audio, and Video All Audio, Video, Alarms, and all other electronics

Questions, 2006 Cobalt.

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2009, 02:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Questions, 2006 Cobalt.

Hello, as you can see I'm new to these parts. I have been scanning the forums, for the past week or so, so I kinda understand what I'm attempting to do.

Okay, first of all my car setup.
2006 Chevy Cobalt
Factory Radio system, with 7 speakers (tweeters, and a sub)

Okay, so I want to upgrade my headunit, sub, and eventually front and rear speakers.

For my headunit, I'm looking at this Sony CDX-GT630UI (LINK).
--The only accessories that I'll need for the install are the wiring harness, mounting kit (single-din), and the antenna adapter, correct?
--I don't need to retain steering wheel controls, and i don't need the OEM adapter, to retain the oil life, and sound features, since my cobalt is an 2006, correct?
--When I get the wiring harness, do I need to re-pin them, and is there a way I could go without needing to re-pin them?
--Just by connecting the wiring harness to the existing factory wires, all of the speakers should work (front, rear, and tweeters), and the sub should not, until I connect that like you would with any other subs, so technically the head unit would have two amps connected to it, the factory amp, and the aftermarket amp for the sub, correct?

For my sub, I want to keep the factory enclosure, so I need a shallow mount, and I'm looking at this Kicker CompVT 07CVT102 (LINK). It says mounting top mount depth= 4-5/16"
--Should I use a dynamat like substance on the inside, and backside of the sub enclosure?
--What is the difference between 2ohm and 4ohm, and if I had to choose what one should I get?