General Cobalt General Cobalt, Pursuit, and Ion talk. Post specific discussions in the forums below

Replaced my headlight assemblies...

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2016, 09:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replaced my headlight assemblies...

Hi,

I replaced my headlight assemblies on my '06 with a set of DEPO HID assemblies. Well, either I'm not used to HID lights, or I'm an idiot.

I did the standard adjustment, measure center of light, mark a vertical surface, everything level, back 25 feet, adjust just under the marks. That was about useless, and it seems the left light influences the right side more than the right light illuminates anything.

Since I drive old cars, I'm not experienced with how HID's work. But the cut-off at the upper end of the beam cuts off, not fade away, I mean light/blackness.

Then, if I look at the pattern of each light as a line from left to right, they both travel a line, then shift up a bit, then continue at the higher level. Seems like if there is an odd pattern, they should do the opposite.

Like I said, I kinda had to wing it, but now I'm afraid I went too high.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. This isn't my first headlight adjustment, but it is the most difficult one.

Last edited by edacsac; 03-14-2016 at 09:25 PM.
Old 03-14-2016, 10:07 PM

Received 132 Likes on 109 Posts
With generation projectors your never going to get the perfect cutoff. The quality just isnt there. I havent worked with the gen 4s but if they are anything like the gen 3s, its a waste of time.
Old 03-15-2016, 01:46 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Got any pictures of what you're talking about? It sounds to me like what you're describing is normal for projectors
Old 03-15-2016, 08:00 AM

I could probably take a picture tonight. So if this is normal, what exactly is the benefit of projectors?
Old 03-15-2016, 08:49 AM
Platinum Member

Received 584 Likes on 519 Posts