Problems/Service/Maintenance Do you have problems with your new 2.0, 2.2, or 2.4L? What kind of service did you have done?

Bad Struts/going on 2k mile trip

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2013, 09:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bad Struts/going on 2k mile trip

Hey guys,
So I'm a huge noob when it comes to certain things on my car. Apparently my struts are going bad on my car (nothing major right now just some clicking when i turn and a slight cut to the right while driving). But my concern is, can this cause major problems on this cross country drive I plan on doing? I don't really have the money to fix it right at this moment and plan on fixing it when I get to where I'm going, but I just want to know I'll be safe.

Also, what struts would you guys recommend?

Thanks,
California
Old 11-15-2013, 11:16 AM

if you are not getting lound clunks and rattles when going over bumps i wouldnt worry too much about it.

worst case senario, you drive it till theres nothing left and you wear out some ball joints, wear out tires and endlinks get slammed.

your fine

also that click your hearing could be anything related to the front end. unless your struts are doing other things ( clunks, etc ) i wouldnt even assume your struts are at fault yet.

e/ struts tend to make themselves very well known when their blown... you will know i guarntee it lol. very lound BANGS when hitting bumps
Old 11-15-2013, 01:17 PM

Originally Posted by 05g5
if you are not getting lound clunks and rattles when going over bumps i wouldnt worry too much about it.

worst case senario, you drive it till theres nothing left and you wear out some ball joints, wear out tires and endlinks get slammed.

your fine

also that click your hearing could be anything related to the front end. unless your struts are doing other things ( clunks, etc ) i wouldnt even assume your struts are at fault yet.