Problems/Service/Maintenance Do you have problems with your new 2.0, 2.2, or 2.4L? What kind of service did you have done?

Break in Period performance

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2007, 06:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Break in Period performance

Newbie here

I have a 2007 Cobalt SS 2.4 (5 Speed)

I only have 140 K on her and they filled my car with regular gas I think.
Acceleration isn't that great, almost feels like my old sunfire.

I know when the tank is almost empty I'll be only putting in premium gas as I heard Regular gas lowers the engine's performance.

So, am I right with this? That regular gas and under the first 1000K will have lower engine performance?
Old 02-09-2007, 06:35 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
well, first of all, you mean 140km, not 140k...

regardless, yes, i can def feel the dif if i use 87 as opposed to 93.

now, with that said, i seem to better MPG when i use the 87, i have no idea why. the only thing that i can assume is that the engine de-tunes itself and doesn't open the cams and ignition as much so it "acts" like a smaller engine at those times, but that's PURELY a guess.

and, yes, mine really has woken up more and more in the almost 12,000 miles that i have owned her.
Old 02-09-2007, 06:56 PM

Originally Posted by joeworkstoohard
well, first of all, you mean 140km, not 140k...

regardless, yes, i can def feel the dif if i use 87 as opposed to 93.

now, with that said, i seem to better MPG when i use the 87, i have no idea why. the only thing that i can assume is that the engine de-tunes itself and doesn't open the cams and ignition as much so it "acts" like a smaller engine at those times, but that's PURELY a guess.

and, yes, mine really has woken up more and more in the almost 12,000 miles that i have owned her.

Yeah I mean't "Km"

I'm excited to see what she's really like

BTW, I've been searching these forums, I heard there is a rev limiter on these cars that will go away after a break in period, is this true?