Problems/Service/Maintenance Do you have problems with your new 2.0, 2.2, or 2.4L? What kind of service did you have done?

Rod knock!

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2008, 09:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rod knock!

2.2 ls'. Who's got bad startup noise, sounds like a 305 out of an old cabby. Pretty sure bearings are goin poo, but I don't have another LS to compare. This is only under cold start, but also if its warm and sits for a while. Some cars make some nasty noises when cold or sit for a minute from the oil bleeding down from tappets, and blah blah blah.

I think it might be time to see the dealer, but I need some ammo first.
Old 08-20-2008, 09:14 PM
Banned

get a vid and post it. could be lifter tick or is it a heavy knock?
Does it go away after a while???
Old 08-20-2008, 09:19 PM

quiets down, but I'm a very picky tech. Customer doesn't get thier car back till I know its in better condition then the way it came in. So in other words I have the mechanics ear/painters eye, I think everythings a potential problem.

To further answer, it does calm down, but I can always hear it. In the garage in the morning? Sounds like the rods are just gonna go kaput. I don't have a video cam other than my phone, but hell I'll give it a shot.
Old 08-21-2008, 11:16 AM
Banned

you're a Tech but not sure if its a rod knock????

Old 08-21-2008, 11:19 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by 07MONTECARLO_SS

x2
Old 08-21-2008, 08:48 PM

If he works with imports (ie honda, bmw) it's very possible he's never seen the inside of an engine. Nah I'm just kidding...but seriously, it could be a series of things...the noise is coming from the crankcase I'd assume?
Old 08-21-2008, 08:49 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by theneelster
If he works with imports (ie honda, bmw) it's very possible he's never seen the inside of an engine. Nah I'm just kidding...but seriously, it could be a series of things...the noise is coming from the crankcase I'd assume?