Problems/Service/Maintenance Do you have problems with your new 2.0, 2.2, or 2.4L? What kind of service did you have done?

Serious help needed - fuel cutoff randomly

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2008, 04:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Serious help needed - fuel cutoff randomly

Maybe you guys can help me troubleshoot..But i've gone to two dealers.

The first one said it was my atmospheric dump valve.
The next one didn't really know, but pretty much blamed my downpipe/intercooler/intake setup all at once without any specific problem.

Just before we get started - this problem came without any warning, and I had been running those mods for several months with out any issue even closely related to something like this. Here's the full story beginning to end

Pull out of my neighborhood, speed limit is 25 - So i'm not going fast or revving high or anything. Stop sign, proceed up a small hill to another stop sign. Pull to a complete stop

shudder's hard, dies. Turn the car on, put it in drive, same thing.

Repeat about 3 time Finally get the car to start moving, rev's arn't matching the speed I should be going.

Finally get it started, and turn around the 0.2 miles I went from my house. Look it over, everything externally seems fine, nothing different from earlier when I drove it. Take it out and it seems fine.

Now it doesn't run horrible anymore. It just hits this fuel cutoff at random points.

All of the different codes i've pulled to this point:
Gearbox malfunction (MIL Request)
ECM/TCM
Catalyst efficiency out of range (had that for months though)

The gearbox and ECM/TCM were only one time occurances, I havn't seen them again.

Main part to read
I'm out of ideas. The hole the MAP sensor goes in looked a little dirty so I cleaned that out with carb cleaner, so that's clean. I'm out of ideas.